Accounting studentSPRINGFIELD – College students pursuing accounting degrees could receive up to $4,000 in scholarships for the 2020-21 academic year, State Senator Laura Murphy (D-Des Plaines) announced today.

The Illinois CPA Society will award more than 40 scholarships of up to $4,000 each to Illinois students through its Accounting Scholarship Program.

“Finances should never stop a hardworking student from getting their degree, but the cost of higher education keeps rising,” said Murphy. “These scholarships could fill in the gaps and make a huge difference for a future accountant.”

Applicants must be an accounting student enrolled at an Illinois college and must demonstrate financial need, academic achievement and leadership qualities.

Available scholarships include:
•    Illinois CPA Society Accounting Scholarships for seniors and graduate students;
•    Herman J. Neal Accounting Scholarships for African American juniors, seniors and graduate students;
•    James A. Sikich Visionary Scholarships for seniors and graduate students;
•    Jovencio P. and Violeta R. Mangahas Accounting Scholarships for seniors and graduate students; and
•    Women’s Executive Committee Advancing Women in Accounting Scholarships for female seniors and graduate students.

Students may apply to any or all scholarships for which they are eligible by submitting a single application. The application deadline is April 1, 2020.

In addition, racial and ethnic minority high school seniors are invited to apply for Illinois CPA Society Freshman Scholarships, which aim to increase awareness of the accounting profession among minority students and prepare them for success in college and the profession. The application deadline for these scholarships is May 1, 2020.

“I’m grateful that organizations like the Illinois CPA Society give back by helping the next generation succeed,” said Murphy. “Everyone deserves the chance to pursue an education.”

All scholarship applications can be completed online at the Illinois CPA Society website.

COVID-19 Resources

COVID19 Updates

Find Your Legislator

O'Hare Air Traffic Complaint Form

eNewsletter Signup

eNewsletter Signup
  1. First Name(*)
    Invalid Input
  2. Last Name(*)
    Invalid Input
  3. Your Email(*)
    Please let us know your email address.

Office Info

Springfield Office:
108E Capitol Building
Springfield, IL 62706
(217) 782-3875

District Office:
880 Lee St. Suite 100
Des Plaines, IL 60016

 (847) 718-1110