Support women Facebook ImageSPRINGFIELD – State Senator Laura Murphy (D-Des Plaines) reassured women of Illinois that they have and will continue to have the right to make their own health care decisions by voting in favor of the Reproductive Health Care Act.

Murphy released the following statement in reaction to Senate Bill 25 passing both chambers of the General Assembly this week:

“This bill will ensure women in Illinois have the opportunity to make their own healthcare choices.  This measure codifies existing Illinois laws and ensures the fundamental right of women to make their own health care decisions.   We have seen recent attacks on women throughout the country regarding our health care and body autonomy. Regardless of what happens at the federal level, women in Illinois will be protected."

042216 js 0186SPRINGFIELD – State Senator Laura Murphy (D-Des Plaines) voted Wednesday in favor of a measure that would legalize and regulate adult-use cannabis throughout the state.

“This measure has been worked on diligently, and I am happy that the bill was amended to address the home grow issue and explain the distribution of revenue that will come with taxing cannabis,” Murphy said. “We have learned that prohibition doesn’t work. This measure will tax a product that has wide spread use, help control THC levels and put a stop to unregulated cannabis on the illicit market.”

House Bill 1438 would:

  • Provide law enforcement with the funding and tools to oversee usage and prevent underage access.
  • Create a new industry that provides revenue to the state and ensures minority participation with regards to both equity in ownership and quality employment.
  • Expunge minor cannabis offenses.

House Bill 1438 passed the Senate and moves to the House for consideration.

humantSPRINGFIELD – State Senator Laura Murphy (D-Des Plaines) is working to fight human trafficking in Illinois by requiring more training on the issue as well as creating stronger penalties for the crime.

She advanced legislation today that would create the Lodging Establishment Human Trafficking Recognition Training Act, which will require hotels and motels to train employees on how to recognize human trafficking and how to alert authorities.

“Hotels and motels have been shown to be popular locations for human trafficking,” Murphy said. “If we want to combat this issue head on, we have to ensure that hospitality staff are educated, aware and putting forth a conscious effort to save victims and catch traffickers.”

Murphy’s measure also requires the Illinois Law Enforcement Training and Standards Board to provide training for police officers to detect human trafficking.

“I don’t think we should stop here,” Murphy said. “Human trafficking is unlike any other crime. It involves the selling of humans. Everyone needs to be educated on this growing epidemic because it doesn’t just happen behind closed doors; it can be anywhere.”

Senate Bill 1890 passed both chambers with bipartisan support and now awaits action by the governor.

SPRINGFIELD – State Senator Laura Murphy (D-Des Plaines) invites the public to attend a series of town hall meetings to hear updates about the state budget and recent legislation as the General Assembly finishes their session.

The public will have an opportunity to participate in discussion and get questions answered.

“I want my constituents to be aware of what is happening in the state,” Murphy said. “Especially regarding budget negotiations, the capital bill, and the fair tax amendment.” 

Murphy will be traveling to six different locations throughout the summer in an effort to provide convenience for all communities in the 28th district. The locations include Elk Grove, Schaumburg, Park Ridge, Des Plaines, Roselle and Hanover Park.

These events are free and open to the public. Flyers with additional details are below. 

Read more: Murphy to host series of summer town hall events

Find Your Legislator

O'Hare Air Traffic Complaint Form

eNewsletter Signup

eNewsletter Signup
  1. First Name(*)
    Invalid Input
  2. Last Name(*)
    Invalid Input
  3. Your Email(*)
    Please let us know your email address.

Office Info

Springfield Office:
108E Capitol Building
Springfield, IL 62706
(217) 782-3875

District Office:
880 Lee St. Suite 100
Des Plaines, IL 60016

 (847) 718-1110